Catching up today

I had felt the beginnings of a cold coming on the past few days.  It hit me yesterday.  I was out of touch the whole day.  Was tired all day.  Just didn’t feel like doing anything.  I couldn’t even think.

My body wasn’t meant to be sitting or lying around all day.  It needs to move around, my mind needs to work on something with a purpose.  I wonder why our bodies react this way?  Why do we get sick?  Is there a deeper meaning to it?  I had just been thinking recently that I hadn’t been sick in over a year.  And then, BAM, this hits me.  Is our subconscious actually more powerful than our conscious in controlling our lives?  Hmm.  Food for thought.

I was watching the series “When we left earth” on the Science channel yesterday.  The series documents how in the 60’s and 70’s, the US government (John Kennedy) set the goal for a man to land on the moon.  It’s astounding, to this day, that we were able to accomplish that feat with the technology and knowledge of the day.  Truly amazing.

We need the same sort of leadership today.  Set the lofty goal; one which seems impossible (get the economy growing again?!).  Let people figure out how to achieve the results.

So now I’m back to the goal at hand; finding my next job opportunity at a small to midsize distribution or manufacturing company, upwards of $500MM.

I welcome suggestions or advice on how to build my network into these sorts of companies in the greater Chicagoland area.

About jerzylink

I'm a geek with a personality. I handle a company's technology pain, transforming it into immediate gain (who's got time to wait now-a-days?). My sweet spot is small/ midsize distribution and manufacturing companies; integrating "pure Windows" with the ERP system necessary to run the company.
This entry was posted in job search and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment